Mrs. Saradha

produzenten--1Saradha woman is 48 years old and for 25 years worked on the plantation. She removes weeds in the nursery of the rubber trees. Because her husband Sardar Shiva is sick it must provide for the entire family and earn the money. Her 21-year-old daughter Sandhia is married and her 19-year-old son Samil Kumar studied electronics. They live in a very simple stone hut, which consists of three small rooms. The water may bring the family for a less poor neighboring family.

In January 2009, Ms. Saradha diseased covered the insurance only part of the 7,000 rupees high total costs, it still lacked 3,000 rupees to pay for treatment. Here the Fairtrade Fund stepped in and paid the remaining cost of 3,000 rupees, which Ms. Saradha could be completely healed now.

On the New Ambadi plantation in South India are currently working 180 persons. The Fairtrade premium they receive natural rubber per kilogram, they can permanently improve their living conditions. The workers and the management will decide together how the premium is used.

Frau Saradha

produzenten--1Frau Saradha ist 48 Jahre alt und arbeitet bereits seit 25 Jahren auf der Plantage. Sie jähtet Unkraut in der Baumschule der Gummibäume. Weil ihr Mann Sardar Shiva krank ist muss sie für die gesamte Familie sorgen und das Geld verdienen. Ihre 21-Jährige Tochter Sandhia ist verheiratet und ihr 19-Jähriger Sohn Samil Kumar studiert Elektronik. Sie leben in einer sehr einfachen Steinhütte, die aus 3 kleinen Zimmern besteht. Das Wasser darf die Familie bei einer weniger armen Nachbarfamilie holen.

Als im Januar 2009 Frau Saradha erkrankte deckte die Versicherung nur einen Teil der 7.000 Rupien hohen Gesamtkosten, es fehlten noch 3.000 Rupien um die Behandlung zu bezahlen. Hier sprang der Fair Trade-Fond ein und zahlte die restlichen Kosten von 3.000 Rupien, wodurch Frau Saradha nun vollständig geheilt werden konnte.

Auf der New Ambadi Plantage in Süd-Indien arbeiten derzeit 180 Personen. Mit der Fair Trade-Prämie, die sie für jedes Kilogramm Naturkautschuk erhalten, können sie ihre Lebensbedingungen dauerhaft verbessern. Die Arbeiter und das Managment entscheiden gemeinsam wie die Prämie genutzt wird.